Skip to Content

The NSW Government established the NSW Carers (Recognition) Act 2010 (the Act). The Act enabled the creation of the NSW Carers Charter and the Carers Advisory Council.

The Charter is set out in Schedule 1 of the Act.

The Department of Family and Community Services (FACS) is leading implementation of the Act in NSW.

The NSW Carers Charter includes 13 principles that recognise the valuable contribution  made by carers and provides guidance on issues of significance for carers.

The NSW Carers Charter groups principles into four key areas:

  1. Carers make a valuable contribution to the community
  2. Carers’ health and well-being is important
  3. Carers are diverse and have individual needs within and beyond their caring role
  4. Carers are partners in care.

FACS has developed a suite of Act and Charter resources, which can be accessed here.

Was this content useful?
Last updated: 24 Sep 2019